Upon the Tide: Review

upon-the-tide

Title: Upon the Tide

Author: Ryan Jo Summers

Published: June 2016

Length: 188

Source: I got this copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

I’m back with another review! I haven’t actually read that much in the past few weeks because beta reading has been taking over my life! I started this short read quite a while back and just not gotten around to finishing it. Anyway on with the review…

The concept of this book was initially what caught my attention, here’s the synopsis (taken from Goodreads):

‘New York fashion designer, Piper Kincaid, just wanted to have a pleasant visit with her cousin down in Florida. That was before she and handsome beach bum, Kade Wyatt, become the targets of a gang of robbers and killers.

Fleeing for their lives aboard Kade’s big boat, they experience risk, surprises, mystery and romance during the Great Caribbean Boat Chase. However, the biggest surprises are waiting for them back at port.’

A compelling and mysterious crime thriller aspect. Check! The potential development of a love story. Check! Again I’m still on a quest to find a romance book that I LOVE. Unfortunately it wasn’t this one and let me explain why…

I found that the characters in this story didn’t act rationally and as a reader you could tell that their illogical decisions were there for the storyline. The main characters Piper and Kade were pleasant enough, but nothing about them STOOD OUT. For me, if I’m not really that immersed by the characters I lose interest.

The main strong points of this book is the world building, as Kade and Piper board the boat and venture off, the scenes for me that were the best were those that heavily relied on world building.

My main problem with this book is that it’s a little too unrealistic to be honest. The relationship between the MC’s developed way too quickly, with both characters being way too comfortable with each other given their circumstances.

At one point Piper and Kade are having lunch in a restaurant and they get tracked by the gang through the use of the MCs credit card. They just about make it out alive and the next morning Piper leaves the boat to explore leaving behind Kade, who was asleep… I just felt like there was no logical reasoning, did she not worry that the gang members are out there waiting for one of them to slip up?

This personally wasn’t for me, I understand that I read fiction and of course if the characters made ALL decisions logically and rationally it wouldn’t make an interesting read. But I also need to be able to justify why they make decisions that they do…

10 thoughts on “Upon the Tide: Review

  1. lupa08 says:

    I completely agree with the part about the importance of realistic characters. As a story composer and avid reader, what I always look out for is whether the characters behave realistically. I mean an author has complete liberty to create a total nutter who goes entirely against whatever we learn from the world around us but there has to be some specific element that drives the way the character approaches his/her world – the world from his/her viewpoint, of course. It’s that consistency that gets me hooked on a novel and the anticipation of the evolving character arc that keeps me going. After all, novels exist to tell the stories of the character(s).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

