Unbound: Colors of Love

unbound

Title: Unbound: Colors of Love

Author: Kathryn Taylor

Published: November 16 2012

Length:  242 pages

Source: Received for review

 

 

 

 

You will probably notice that from my past reviews I don’t really read a lot of romance novels, I tend to prefer romance in fantasy/crime etc. I haven’t really read a romance contemporary that I really, really liked. So during the summer I thought why the hell don’t I i try and read at least one! I was scrolling through Netgalley and read the synopsis of Unbound and decided to just jump in! Here’s the synopsis: (taken from Goodreads)

‘Grace is young and has led a sheltered life. She hasn’t yet taken much of an interest in men. It’s only while doing an internship in London, where she meets the alluring Jonathan Huntington, that our sleeping beauty is awoken from her slumber. Jonathan is rich, incredibly attractive, and stems from British royalty – but he is a far cry from Prince Charming. He lures Grace ever deeper into his world of sinister passion, and she is sucked further and further into the maelstrom of her own growing desires. But when Jonathan demands she do the unthinkable to prove her love for him, she realizes just how dangerous her feelings for him are.’

I like to ensure that my reviews are balanced, I want to point out what i didn’t enjoy but also what kept me reading. Let me start with why I had to finish reading this book. There’s a secret/mystery within the story that is only revealed at the end, I wanted to see if that would change my opinion of this book. Mehhh… it didn’t, and to be completely honest once the big reveal happened i was so uninterested in the characters I didn’t really care.

As a reader I feel like we can excuse a few grammatical errors while reading , its just something that happens! And hey, I make plenty of errors on this blog, some that I just didn’t pick up while editing and others for effect. BUT whilst reading this book I noticed it was getting a little hard to ignore them.
For me to be able to immerse myself in a story I have to be able to see myself as the character, but i just couldn’t do that. There were literally some things that left me a little flabbergasted. Like really, you’re going to have her do that?

Maybe this is someone else’ cup of tea, but it weren’t mine. I wouldn’t personally recommend this to someone who doesn’t usually read a lot of romance. I didn’t find that it had much development in terms of the plot line or the characters. It’ll probably take a little more effort to pick up another contemporary romance…

10 thoughts on “Unbound: Colors of Love

  1. Niraja @ Fantastic Books and Where to Find Them says:

    I don’t read much romance either, unless if it’s YA contemporary or fantasy. I’m just not a huge fan of novels that are completely focused on the romance between two characters, instead of involving other aspects too and external conflict (instead of just ups and downs during dating). So, I probably won’t be reading this one anytime soon. Great review, though! xx

    Like

  2. Blue Haven Press says:

    Is this book self-published? I ask that because more and more I see errors in books published by big name publishers. Who is editing out there? Is it all done by computer programs? I also can’t abide romance novels although the first time I saw Romancing the Stone I longed to be one. That was thirty-two years ago in New York City. I ordered it up from HBO four or five times that weekend. When I read the novel, I was SO disappointed in the writing. It’s amazing what big screen, big stars, big script can do for a story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • abooknation says:

      No I don’t think it was self published, but I have realised the same thing! I don’t know why but I don’t usually go for romance movies. I’ve watched a few that I didn’t mind but I definitely didn’t want to pick up the book. I feel like I just keep coming across the wrong content?

      Like

  3. sunnyk12 says:

    Hmm. I haven’t read this one. There are a quite a few good romance novels that have been published but I personally prefer ones that involve some sort of historical context or ones that involve time travelling. I did read quite a few good romance novels by Nora Roberts and a few by Danielle Steel. I will get back to you on the titles of those. I have them on my bookshelf somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

      • sunnyk12 says:

        Yeah, check out Danielle Steel’s books. I recommend you read, Dating Game and A Perfect Stranger. I read those ones and I really enjoyed them. As for the Nora Roberts ones, I read Dancing upon the air and Birthright, which were surprising and enjoyable.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. bookishdrabbles says:

    I feel like this with a lot of romance novels, too. It may just be because I’m picky but sometimes I think they don’t try hard enough to sell the characters or the romance? It just seems like they think any old love story will do but it falls flat a lot of the time and yes, I agree with you- romance in fantasy or crime feel more real even though they’re in more unrealistic settings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

