The Twilight Children: Review

The-Twilight-Children-Cv1-SDCC-81b4d.jpg

 

Title: The Twilight Children

Published by : Vertigo

Publication date: May 17th 2016

By Gilbert Hernandez (writer) and Darwyn Cooke (artist)

Source: Received copy from DC Entertainment through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

This comic book left me so conflicted, I was looking through the most requested comics on NetGalley and came across The Twilight Children, the synopsis sounded really interesting and obviously I couldn’t see the artwork inside but I loved the art style on the cover! This is a Sci-Fi mystery and I loved that the synopsis was very vague so I really wanted to read it. Here’s the synopsis:

‘When a white orb washes up on the shore of a remote Latin American village, a group of children naturally poke at the strange object to see what it is. The orb explodes, leaving the children completely blind. And when a beautiful young woman who may be an alien is found wandering the seafront, she’s taken in by the townspeople, but soon becomes a person of interest to a quirky pair of undercover CIA agents, and the target of affection for a young scientist. Can they come together to prevent an all-out alien invasion and save the souls in this sleepy, seaside town?’

 World Building: I found that this was one of those stories where the World Building wasn’t outstanding but it had enough for me to immerse myself into the environment. I was quite surprised to find out that apparently there is no second volume? I don’t know if this is true but I’ve also searched for any sign that there will be a volume two and I’ve come up with nothing. I would’ve been satisfied with the world building for this volume if I knew that it was an on-going series, but as this is not the case I would’ve liked a bit more complexity in this Latin village, maybe focus a tiny bit more on building a stronger environment.

Characters: I feel like throughout this review I’m going to keep referring back to the fact that one volume is TOOOO SHOORTT. We don’t have enough time for character development, or relationship development. Everything was a bit confusing. However with that being said, I really liked the set of characters we have in this comic, from the scientist to the standard protective sheriff and the promiscuous wife in the village.  As this is called the Twilight Children I did expect a bit more of a focus on the group of children that mysteriously turn blind and suddenly feel connected to this mysterious newcomer into the village, Ela.

Plot: It was a bit of a mess, I’m going to be completely honest. Every reader likes the mystery aspect, we all like to form theories or explanations and discover by the end whether we were right. Nothing is explained, now I might be a little slow, if you’ve read this comic please comment down below and explain the theory behind it. But in my opinion, nothing is clarified, what the hell is the Orb? Why do people randomly disappear? Why are the children blind? I honestly can carry on asking all these questions, and I completely understand that not everything is to be made crystal clear by the end of the volume. I’ve finished reading and I don’t know have a clue what happened, nothing… I love the concept, I really do, it’s why I wanted to read this but for me I’m just left confused and awfully dissatisfied at the end.

Overall I really liked the premise, the set of characters and I loved the artwork. The seeting of this comic is beautifully displayed by the illustrations and the use of vibrant colours. However I did feel like it fell a little flat at the end, with next to no explanation of any of the Sci-Fi components leaving the reader a bit confused.

13 thoughts on “The Twilight Children: Review

  1. ljtreads says:

    I hate when a story could have been great if only they’d done more with it. An author has to know when to trim fat in a narrative, but I honestly think it’s worse when there’s not enough to make things clear.

    Anyway, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Brandwidth says:

    I haven’t read the book. But, may be the author wanted to leave an open ending and wanted the audience to have their own interpretation of the story, may be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • abooknation says:

      I completely understand that and have come across it in many other books, BUT usually when that’s done the reader has been given enough information. All interpretations have a basis and I just felt like we didn’t know enough for that. I don’t know if what I’m saying makes sense but that’s usually what i expect in a mystery

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jess says:

    Wow, what an intriguing review! It sounds like this was such a frustrating experience, with the art being so good, and so many interesting elements to the story, but not enough to make it satisfying. Still, you’ve made me curious enough to seek it out myself. Thank you for another great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

