Paper Girls Vol. 1: Review

61rBRmlmFYL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_Title: Paper Girls Vol. 1

Published by :Image Comics

Publication date: April 5th 2016

By Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang (Illustrator), Matthew Wilson (Illustrator), Jared K. Fletcher (Artist), Matthew Wilson (Artist), Cliff Chiang (Artist)

Source: Received copy from publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

This is about a group of 12 year old paper girls who come across some weird stuff on Halloween. I mean WEIRD. It’s set in 1988 and I think that’s why I was even more interested, it had a very nostalgic feel about it. In this review I won’t include any spoilers and I’ll also take into account that this is just the first volume.

I’d like to start talking about the pacing of this volume, for me I found it quite difficult to keep up. This is a Sci-fi/fantasy comic so I understand that the concepts introduced are going to be strange and peculiar but I feel that we have too many of these sci-fi elements introduced that it’s a bit overwhelming. I found that I was almost at the end of the volume but I still couldn’t draw a link between them which left me slightly confused… I also think another factor that contributed to my confusion was that we are constantly being introduced to new characters.

In terms of characters, I loved the range of personalities we have within this group of girls but I do wish that we could explore them a little more. Each character is so unique and complex and holds such a different view from the rest of the girls that at times it felt a bit jarring to be reading a scene where they were all present. But by the end of this volume I had a general feel for each character so hopefully that will help me understand volume 2 a bit more.

The unusual nature of this comic really made me want to read more, I really wanted to see where this story was going, and perhaps an explanation to what on earth is going on! One thing I will say is that it ended on a cliff-hanger that left me searching for the next volume! I do understand that this is the first volume so I am not drawing any conclusions about this series but I am hoping the next volumes focus less on introducing more concepts and perhaps more on world-building and explaining what happened in the first! It was definitely an entertaining read with illustrations that did fit the general tone of the story and quite bizarre concepts that I want to know more about so I will be keeping my eyes peeled for volume 2!

8 thoughts on “Paper Girls Vol. 1: Review

Leave a Reply

