Intimidating TBR pile tag!

This tag was originally made by Lindsay Ven (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UdCveZR5cI), I tagged myself because, why not? I haven’t done these in a WHILE so here we go!

What book are you unable to finish?

CITY OF LOST SOULS! Dear God I’ve tried SO hard, SO hard! It’s just not happening, and I bought Lady Midnight the week it was released so that should be motivation enough to finish it, right? Nope. I’m thinking of taking a break from TMI series and coming back to it maybe during the summer.

What book have you yet to read because you don’t have the time?

I could legit put ALL my books into this pile but I’m going to go with a series here, TID. I’ve heard SO many good things about this series, SO many! Some saying it’s even better than TMI, but I just can’t start an entire trilogy at this point!

It’s a sequel?

I don’t currently have any sequels in my TBR (apart from CoLS)

Its brand new?

Gone by Michael Grant

You read a book by the same author and you didn’t enjoy it?

A Court Of Thorns and Roses. ( I can hear the gasps through my laptop!) I just didn’t understand the hype about TOG. BUT I did say at the end of my review for TOG that I would still like to try some of her other work, who knows maybe I’ll like ACOTAR?

You’re just not in the mood for it?

Twilight. There’s just TOO much hype/criticism associated with this book, I can’t even. I didn’t even buy the novel I bought the graphic novel but I still don’t really feel like picking it up…

Its humongous?

Oh dear, this one as soon as I saw it I instantly knew what book would fit here perfectly. That would be… War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. 1024 pages! The TV show adaptation came out a few months ago and I LOVED IT. But I didn’t really know it was based on a book so I think I can get away with that?

Me and my friend were out and one of the actors from the show was walking past, I don’t even know what happened, I guess I didn’t internalise my thoughts. I just STARED at him (plus I’m kind of short sighted) and in my mind I’m like omg its him? No it can’t be? No its actually him? Whilst that’s happening I was basically pointing at the poor dude the entire time and I just yelled out OMG ITS YOU! He just flinched and walked right past… The humiliation! I was so mortified for the rest of the day I would just randomly shout OMG ITS YOU!  (I don’t even know if that made sense because I’m just frantically typing hoping that this’ll make the memory fade away…)

What is the most intimidating book on your TBR pile?

I bought this book quite a while ago and I’ve just not been brave enough to pick it up… Rogues.

Heres the synopsis from amazon:

‘Commissioned by George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, these twenty-one all-original stories by a rogues gallery of bestselling authors will delight and astonish you in equal measure with their cunning twists and dazzling reversals. Featuring stories by Joe Abercrombie Daniel Abraham David W. Ball Paul Cornell Bradley Denton Phyllis Eisenstein Gillian Flynn Neil Gaiman Matthew Hughes Joe R. Lansdale Scott Lynch Garth Nix Cherie Priest Patrick Rothfuss Steven Saylor Michael Swanwick Lisa Tuttle Carrie Vaughn Walter Jon Williams Connie Willis and George R. R. Martin himself offers a brand new Game of Thrones tale chronicling one of the biggest rogues in the entire history of the Ice and Fire saga.’

To me that is the most intimidating blurb I’ve ever read. This book has so many great authors and was commissioned by frigging George R.R Martin, which means my expectations are through the roof for the short stories inside! Also I never know the best way to read these kinds of books. I feel like I should pick up a short story each week, that way it’ll feel less overwhelming.

I thought I’d post something a little different seeing as all I post are book hauls and reviews, I don’t really have a lot of time to sit down and just think up blog ideas, but soon come summer and I shall flourish in my creativeness (I’m rambling again, whats new?). So in the meantime I thought I’d take part in some tags. What are some other posts you would like to see? Please leave suggestions down below!

12 thoughts on “Intimidating TBR pile tag!

  1. glorybeelolo says:

    For many years I couldn’t finish Don Quixote! However, I bought a translation (sorry the book’s in storage and I can’t remember the edition 😦
    but, the translation and annotation was so good, I laughed my a__ off, and finally understood why it’s a classic. I loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tj6james6 says:

    I still can’t finish Pandora by Ann Rice! I’ve tried several times, and it’s been out for how long?
    I haven’t even tried the TMI series, except for barely the first chapter of the first book. My issue with that one though is the rumors behind it; that the author plagiarized a lot of different books and movies in order to write it. Well, I have another issue too, but it has more to do with the fact that I’m sick to death of naive young women who are good only for angst. They go out and do what they want, when they want, without thought to their own safety.

    Liked by 1 person

    • abooknation says:

      Yeah I don’t think you’ll like TMI 😅, that’s literally the main character Clary. She doesn’t seem to have the ability process thoughts, and it lands her in a whole load of crap! I’ve heard those rumours too but as I can’t validate them I thought I’d still try the books!

      Like

      • abooknation says:

        I LOVE Simon, the TV show isn’t really that great I started watching it but I just couldn’t, I made to maybe episode 6 and then I couldn’t take anymore 😅

        Like

      • tj6james6 says:

        As a human Simon was just too…geeky looking and too much of a sycophant to Clary, ignoring those around him who actually loved him the way he loves Clary.
        I don’t watch it for the plot line, since there isn’t one really. I watch it for the laughs, lol.
        I got bored with the naive heroine with Sookie Stackhouse. And I’ll stop that rant now since it’s a huge one! lol

        Like

  3. healed1337 says:

    I’m with you on Throne of Glass. It was ok, but with so many other great fantasy titles out there, and how I’ve rediscovered my love of Star Wars since Force Awakens came out, A Court Of Thorns and Roses is low on my priority list.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bookishhollow says:

    I’ve read Gone and really enjoyed the first 4 books. I haven’t finished the series yet because I could never find Light when I was looking. Now I own them all and will have to reread them before I can finish the series. That is basically my intimidating TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

